Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Ask and give advice here
Post Reply
Haans
Oil Stain
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:10 pm
What model do you have?: 1960 ghia
Location: Nelson Mandela Metro
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times
Flag: South Africa

Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Haans » Sat Mar 10, 2018 7:54 pm

Please help,....we cocked up !!!!

Old cable removed in 2 pieces,......taken to cable maker to make up new. When I fetched,.....my mistake was to check..... big mistake,.....No! i don't need the old parts,......chuck it away !,

So ?!!! To our surprise this afternoon the cable is too short by 39cm,.......just about the short piece length I gave with to make up the cable.

So?,....does anybody have thre std length for a ' 70 bay single cab ?,....just to compare with what I will be asking for on monday

Much appreciated.

Haans



User avatar
Merlin
ACVWSA Junkie
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:46 pm
What model do you have?:  Various
Location: Cape Town, ZA
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times
Flag: Germany
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Merlin » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:24 pm

I may still have a few NOS cables floating around at Home. If you're keen, let me know and we can check tomorrow. :-)

Post, courier or PostNet.
"Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car, and oversteer, the rear.
Hp is how fast you hit the wall, and Torque is how far you take the wall with you."
sled wrote:well obviously the UK is wrong.

Haans
Oil Stain
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:10 pm
What model do you have?: 1960 ghia
Location: Nelson Mandela Metro
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Haans » Sun Mar 11, 2018 5:00 pm

Thanks Merlin,.....if you were closer it might have been an option. Cableman is on doorstep,......price about R130......me thinks. In PE
Had the notion that someone will shout,.....3958.45mm as an example ! ,.....then I will have a starting point.

Appreciate response

Haans

User avatar
Merlin
ACVWSA Junkie
Posts: 5988
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:46 pm
What model do you have?:  Various
Location: Cape Town, ZA
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 33 times
Flag: Germany
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Merlin » Sun Mar 11, 2018 7:00 pm

No worries.

I keep a list of my inventory, but as I live 1,600+km from my inventory and my family ship my parts on my behalf, it makes checking specifics a time-consuming process unfortunately. :-)

I'm sure someone will chime in here with a cable length confirmation come Monday.
"Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car, and oversteer, the rear.
Hp is how fast you hit the wall, and Torque is how far you take the wall with you."
sled wrote:well obviously the UK is wrong.

User avatar
retrovan
Donor
Donor
Posts: 6883
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:51 pm
What model do you have?: 52T1,68FB,72Bay,75FL
Location: Eich! no, in Jefferys Bay
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 327 times
Flag: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by retrovan » Sun Mar 11, 2018 8:14 pm

get a small roll of binding wire, feed it trough, cut to length, take it out, give it to the cableman, and voila you have a cable

Herman
1952 Split Beetle 1835cc twin 34ICT's (Azure Blue)
1968 Fastback (2Lt.type4)twin 34ICT's( Red)
1972 Low Light Bay Panel Van (2Lt type 4)twin 34ICT's(White)
1975 Fleetline Panel Van 1914cc twin 34ICT's(Aqua Blue/White)

Haans
Oil Stain
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:10 pm
What model do you have?: 1960 ghia
Location: Nelson Mandela Metro
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Haans » Mon Mar 12, 2018 9:25 am

Thanks gents,....will go with what I have for now and hold thumbs. When fitted,... I will write it down and notify all of the length.

Regards to all. Haans

User avatar
slak
Donor
Donor
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:07 am
What model do you have?: Baja, Bay , Beetle
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/editprofile.php
Location: Jhb , Germiston
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by slak » Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:12 am

Length 3462mm
U Only Live Once Right !!!

Terry Phillips
Twin Port
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:56 pm
What model do you have?: T3,58,60,61beetle
Location: Kempton Park
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 86 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Terry Phillips » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:22 am

Herman so its you that keeps cutting farmer Browns fence next to the road. :lol:
If it was not through the old farmers there would be cars broken down all over the place poor Farmers must have a hard time.

User avatar
retrovan
Donor
Donor
Posts: 6883
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 8:51 pm
What model do you have?: 52T1,68FB,72Bay,75FL
Location: Eich! no, in Jefferys Bay
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 327 times
Flag: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by retrovan » Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:39 am

Terry Phillips wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 11:22 am
Herman so its you that keeps cutting farmer Browns fence next to the road. :lol:
....
Can not be me Terry, my extension for my grinder is not that long...... :shock:

:lol: :lol:

Bought my 1946 Morris 10 in Bloemfontein, many years back and had it on a trailer, it bounced so much it broke all my hold down straps, so I cut some poor farmers Dooren Draad to hold it down.

Worked all the way to JHB. :wink:

Herman
1952 Split Beetle 1835cc twin 34ICT's (Azure Blue)
1968 Fastback (2Lt.type4)twin 34ICT's( Red)
1972 Low Light Bay Panel Van (2Lt type 4)twin 34ICT's(White)
1975 Fleetline Panel Van 1914cc twin 34ICT's(Aqua Blue/White)

Terry Phillips
Twin Port
Posts: 1429
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 5:56 pm
What model do you have?: T3,58,60,61beetle
Location: Kempton Park
Has thanked: 53 times
Been thanked: 86 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Terry Phillips » Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:37 pm

Its funny how their fencing works every time, some times it stays on the car forever. :lol:

Haans
Oil Stain
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:10 pm
What model do you have?: 1960 ghia
Location: Nelson Mandela Metro
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Haans » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:04 pm

Gents,....glad this topic is creating some different opinion and diverse ways of getting to the answers.

Thanks Slak,...4362mm is good measure,....but,.....and it could be we are talking about different engines in these bays.

This is a '70 bay single cab with the std twinport engine with tins the same as of a beetle.

Getting back to the length,..had cable made up to 3435mm front of eye to tip end at the carb. In this instance I would reduce another 10mm at least. For this particular vehicle!

Hence I have to admit,....it was perhaps a "loaded" question. :roll:

However it was nice to get all the inputs and plans how to get from a to b

Just to note ,....check temp couple of minutes ago under afdak,.....38 degrees!!

Regards haans

User avatar
slak
Donor
Donor
Posts: 995
Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:07 am
What model do you have?: Baja, Bay , Beetle
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/editprofile.php
Location: Jhb , Germiston
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 28 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by slak » Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:26 pm

slak wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:12 am
Length 3462mm
not 4362mm

i got the length from the pakket i bought my cable in
U Only Live Once Right !!!

User avatar
fig
Bus Driver
Posts: 11432
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:08 pm
What model do you have?: Type 2
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/258896479219/
Location: Where life is cheap and death is free
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 273 times
Flag: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by fig » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:16 pm

Haans wrote:
Tue Mar 13, 2018 2:04 pm
Getting back to the length,..had cable made up to 3435mm front of eye to tip end at the carb. In this instance I would reduce another 10mm at least. For this particular vehicle!
Sorry for chiming in late.

The factory parts list says a 1970 RHD accelerator cable is 3420mm long, so that sounds about right against your experience above.

There are 3 different acc cable lengths for RHD early baywindows with type 1 engines (68-69: 3470mm, 70-71: 3420mm, 72: 3410mm).
fig
Kaapse Kombi Kult

"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right." -- Henry Ford

User avatar
fig
Bus Driver
Posts: 11432
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 10:08 pm
What model do you have?: Type 2
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/258896479219/
Location: Where life is cheap and death is free
Has thanked: 206 times
Been thanked: 273 times
Flag: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by fig » Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:28 pm

Terry Phillips wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:37 pm
Its funny how their fencing works every time, some times it stays on the car forever. :lol:
True story. I used some fencing wire to fix a broken acc cable at the roadside when the only tool I had with me was a swiss army knife (I usually carry a comprehensive travelling tool kit). I saw no reason to mess with it and it was on the car until I retired it years later (to my barn, awaiting restoration).
fig
Kaapse Kombi Kult

"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right." -- Henry Ford

Haans
Oil Stain
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2016 7:10 pm
What model do you have?: 1960 ghia
Location: Nelson Mandela Metro
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 13 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Serious help needed please. Bay throttle cable length ?

Post by Haans » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:47 pm

I will support the 3420mm for single cab,......BUT always keep what you remove,.....sometimes bush mechanics gett very creative to run lines and cables

Thanks all
Haans

Post Reply