72 beetle idle issues

Ask and give advice here
vestall
Drip
What model do you have?: 72

72 beetle idle issues

Post by vestall »

hi
I decided to clean my 72 beetle 1302 carb, bought the carb kit and everything, the cleaning went of without any problems, took alot of pics and videos, The problem i have now is that the beetle struggles to start and when it does the revs is very high but does out as soon as i take my foot of the accelerator , it almost as if there is no petrol going threw but after a few attempt i can see the carb is fludded, Its my first time fixing cars ......... pls help :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

73type2
Pushrod
What model do you have?: '73 T2 Single Cab
France

Re: 72 beetle idle issues

Post by 73type2 »

A good place to start is always to check that ignition timing is correct, valve clearances is set correctly, points set correctly, no vacuum leaks, etc. before fine tuning the carburettor. I was struggling for some time with hesitation on acceleration on my '71 1300 TP and suspected vacuum leaks at the manifold boots and the carb running too lean. I replaced my carb with another one and the problem persisted. I finally decided to go back to basics and locate TDC using a piston stopper tool, set the valve clearances to 0.006". I found that the stock marks on my crank pulley was out by several degrees. The car runs very well now and the hesitation is no more. This might not help you with your carb issue but first check that the above is in order.
vestall
Drip

Post by vestall »

Thanks for the advice, Il check it and then I will come back to you.
vestall
Drip

Post by vestall »

Hi every one,