Wiring up Head Unit?

In Car Entertainment
Post Reply
User avatar
biscuit
Drip
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2010 5:41 pm
What model do you have?: 1975 1600s

Wiring up Head Unit?

Post by biscuit » Tue Jul 06, 2010 10:32 pm

:?
I recently got this head unit, an LG LAC3900N, and i am very confused as how to wire it into my 1975 1600s..
I've attached photos of the headunit and cables i was given...VERY CONFUSED...

Thanks :)

http://img149.imageshack.us/i/06072010509.jpg/
http://img651.imageshack.us/i/06072010510.jpg/
http://img715.imageshack.us/i/06072010511.jpg/
http://img196.imageshack.us/i/06072010512.jpg/



jmvv
Crankshaft
Posts: 714
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 12:31 pm
What model do you have?: 68 Variant 69 Beetle
Location: centurion
Been thanked: 24 times
Flag: South Africa

Re: Wiring up Head Unit?

Post by jmvv » Wed Jul 07, 2010 7:59 am

the head unit has ISO connectors. It is intended for installation in modern vehicles with ISO female connectors (eg VW Polo)

You will not need the ISO connectors in your Beetle.

The connector with the red, yellow, black wires is the power connector.

The connector with the green, white, grey and purple connectors is the speaker connector.

You can cut the connectors off and splice the wiring directly to the car.

The colour codes are as follows:

Black = ground (negative)
red = switched ignition (+12V when ignition is on)
yellow = memory retention (unswitched permanent +12V)
blue = electric aerial control / amplifier remote turn on control

green = left rear positive
green/black tracer = left rear negative
white = left front positive
white/black tracer = left front negative
grey = right front positive
grey/black tracer = right front negative
purple = right rear positive
purple/black tracer = right rear negative

Black can be connected to any good chassis ground
red can be connected to a switched supply in the fuse box
yellow can be connected to a permanent supply in the fuse box

If you do not want the radio to turn on and off with the ignition, connect the red wire to the yellow wire and switch the radio on and off on the radio face.

User avatar
vader
ACVWSA Junkie
Posts: 6465
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 9:17 am
What model do you have?: TieFighter
Location: Help!I don't know where I am. Its dark & I can hear voices...
Has thanked: 9 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Wiring up Head Unit?

Post by vader » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:42 am

Are there no RCA outputs on the head unit?

If there are you can use them as inputs into an AMP.
"My other ride is your SeatCover! & She loves it!"
Sometimes you'r the statue, sometimes your the pigeon.
"Only the dead go free..." Roger Waters.
"You do not understand the power of the DarkSide" Darth Vader.

User avatar
splitfan
Carburettor
Posts: 1959
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 1:23 pm
What model do you have?: 56,71,75
Location: Port Shepstone KZN
Has thanked: 45 times
Been thanked: 26 times
Flag: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Wiring up Head Unit?

Post by splitfan » Wed Jul 07, 2010 12:35 pm

My biggest fear is that my wife sells my cars for what i told her they cost !!

Post Reply